Greater interest in Peak Oil than ever / Större intresse för Peak Oil än någonsin

Posted on March 2, 2009

3


During recent years I have accepted 40-50 invitations to give presentations in Sweden and around the world and I have also declined about the same number. This year I had planned on saying “no” more often and I thought that the lower oil price would dampen interest. Now as I plan activities for March I see, instead, that the opposite is true and, during this month, I will give a total of 10 invited presentations.

It begins tomorrow on Tuesday when the municipality of Knivsta has organized a presentation for the public at 7PM. The title is, “When the oil runs out” and if you are interested and have the possibility to attend then you are certainly welcome.

On Wednesday it is the students at Uppsala University that will be the audience and on Thursday morning I fly to Aberdeen in Scotland. The University of Aberdeen has invited me as a lecturer in their lecture series “Energy Controversies”. It is their intention that the lecture will be filmed and then posted on their website. Last Friday I got the following message, “Your lecture is a “sell out” and will hopefully attract significant media attention both locally and nationally.” That means that I should be a little more careful than usual and I only hope that the day goes well and the recording is a success. I will not describe all 10 lectures to the delivered but will, instead, let you know how they went.

(Swedish)
De senaste åren har jag accepterat 40 till 50 inbjudningar att hålla föredrag I Sverige och runt om i världen, samtidigt som jag tackat nej till lika många. I år hade jag tänkt säga nej vid fler tillfällen, och jag trodde att det lägre oljepriset skulle dämpa intresset. När jag nu planerar aktiviteter för mars ser jag snarare det motsatta och under månaden blir totalt 10 inbjudna föredrag.

Det börjar i morgon tisdag då Knivsta kommun ordnar ett föredrag för allmänheten kl 19:00. Rubriken är ”När oljan sinar” och om du är intresserad och har möjlighet att komma så är du säkert välkommen.

På onsdag är det studenter vi Uppsala universitet som blir åhörare och på torsdag morgon flyger jag till Aberdeen i Skottland. University of Aberdeen har bjudit in mig som föreläsare till deras föreläsningsserie ”Energy Controversies”. Det är meningen att föreläsningen skall filmas och sedan läggas ut på deras hemsida. I fredags fick jag följande meddelande: “Your lecture is a “sell out” and will hopefully attract significant media attention both locally and nationally.” Det betyder att man få skärpa sig lite extra och det är bara att hoppas att jag har en bra dag och att inspelningen blir lyckad. Jag skall inte gå igenom alla 10 föreläsningar utan återkommer allt eftersom de passerar revy.

Posted in: Dagsaktuellt