Birgitta Hambraeus – a former student / Birgitta Hambraeus – en gammal elev

Posted on May 17, 2009

2


Last weekend I received an invitation to write something for Birgitta Hambraeus’ Guest Book. Birgitta is a former member of parliament in Sweden and a well known opponent of nuclear energy. She was also a student when I conducted a pilot course in problem-based distance education many years ago. Here is my contribution to her guest book.

Hello Birgitta!
To be a researcher is to come up with ideas that are “crazy” and then test them. You were one of those that was affected by my idea to test problem-based distance education. It was 1996 and the government had made a large investment in an investigation called “Dukom” and was willing to back my ideas. I was completely convinced that the future’s greatest problem was to ensure a sufficient energy supply and that everyone needed to be educated about energy. In my research project I needed three categories of student and one group was to consist of leaders/decision makers. An invitation was sent out to all parliamentarians and you were one of the two that responded. To plan, conduct and report on the course took one and a half years. When the distance education committee, Dukom, submitted its final report for the education minister they chose one of approximately 100 projects to be presented to the minister and, happily for us, the one chosen was ours. It was actually the first time in the world that someone had tested problem-based distance education. Here is one of several places that you can read about the project: (http://www.stockholmchallenge.se/data/distance_problem_based_le).

Now, 13 years later, I know that this project was completely decisive for the research that we conduct today. I have read your newsletter and I believe that there are several viewpoints that we are in agreement on. As you know, a question exists that we are both concerned about and that is the attitude to nuclear energy. If we look forward in time nuclear energy is clearly secondary to the world’s greatest problem of how we will produce food in the future when we cannot use fossil fuels. The food that you have on your table contains less energy than was present in all the oil used to put it there.

I have two fantastically clever students, Karin and Kersti, who have just submitted their Masters thesis, “Can agriculture provide us with both food and fuel”. I will send you a copy of the work when the final corrections have been made. A short summary can be found on my blog. On my blog you can also follow what is happening around the world in the energy area. Considering your great interest in energy I would recommend that you apply to attend the “Energy 2050” symposium organized by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences at which I am very pleased that I am invited to speak. You can find more information at www.energy2050.se. Best regards until we meet again.

(Swedish)

Fick i helgen en inbjudan att skriva något i Birgitta Hambraeus gästbok. Birgitta är före detta riksdagsledamot och välkänd motståndare till kärnkraft. Hon var också elev då jag genomförde en pilotkurs i problembaserad distansutbildning för många år sedan. Här är mitt inlägg i hennes gästbok.

Hej Birgitta!

Att vara forskare är att få idéer som är ”tokiga” och sedan testa sina idéer. Du var en av de som drabbades av min idé att testa problembaserad undervisning i distansundervisningen. Det var 1996 och regeringen hade satsat stort på en utredning som kallades för Dukom och mina idéer var man villiga att satsa på. Jag var helt övertygad om att framtidens största problem var att klara energiförsörjningen och att alla borde skaffa sig kunskap om energi. I mitt forskningsprojekt behövde jag tre kategorier av studenter och en grupp skulle bestå av beslutsfattare. En inbjudan gick ut till alla riksdagsledamöter och du var en av två som nappade på erbjudandet. Planering, genomförande och slutrapport tog ett och ett halvt år. Då distansutbildnings kommittén, Dukom, la fram sitt slutbetänkande för utbildningsministern valde man ut ett av ca hundra projekt att bli presenterade för ministern och glädjande för oss blev det vårt projekt. Det var nämligen första gången i världen som någon testat problembaserad distansutbildning. Här är en av flera platser där du kan läsa om projektet (http://www.stockholmchallenge.se/data/distance_problem_based_le).

Nu 13 år senare vet jag att detta projekt var helt avgörande för den forskning som jag bedriver idag. Jag har läst dina nyhetsbrev och jag tror att det finns flera åsikter som vi kan vara överens om. Som du vet finns det en fråga som vi inte delar och det är synen på kärnkraft. Om vi skådar in i framtiden är kärnkraftsfrågan klart underordnad världens största problem, hur skall vi producera mat i framtiden då vi inte kan använda fossila bränslen. Den mat som du har på bordet innehåller mindre energi än all den olja som vi använt för att få den på bordet.

Jag har två fantastiskt duktiga studenter, Karin och Kersti, som just lagt fram sitt examensarbete ”Can agriculture provide us with both food and fuel?” Jag skall skicka Dig en kopia av arbetet då de sista korrigeringarna är genomförda. En kort sammanfattning finns på min blogg. På min blogg kan du också följa vad som häder runt om i världen inom energiområdet och med ditt stora energiintresse rekommenderar jag dig att anmäla dig till Energy2050 som ordnas av Kungliga vetenskapsakademin den 19-20 oktober. Till min glädje är jag inbjuden att tala. Mer information hittar du på www.energy2050.se. Ha det så bra tills vi ses.

Posted in: Dagsaktuellt