Week with energy information – 1

Posted on June 14, 2011

3


Recently, there have not been any blog postings. This is not because there hasn’t been anything to write about but, rather, because I have dedicated all my time to writing. At the moment I am writing that last major chapter in my book “Peeking at Peak Oil” and it will have the title, “Living with Peak Oil”. Writing this book has been a fascinating journey. In total, there are nine other people apart from the publishers who are involved at different levels. The English version of the book will be published by Springer while the Swedish version will be printed by Studentliterature. Of course, a number of people are also involved at the publishers. The book will be around 250-300 pages long and Olle has make 100 fantastic illustrations. A month ago I wrote the chapter on Saudi Arabia and Sadad al-Husaini, the former vice-CEO for Saudi Aramco has read it and commented, “Best wishes with your current project and I hope your book will be a great success”.

Currently, I have had a very energy intensive week. Yesterday, (Monday) I was visited by Mats Odell, the former minister and currently chairperson for the industry working group of the Christian Democrats as well as its spokesperson on energy issues. We presented our research and concluded with an intensive debate about Peak Oil.

Today on Tuesday, I have touched down in Copenhagen on the way to Brussels. The leadership of the Danish company Nordens wanted to be informed about Peak Oil. I can state that, once again, there was reluctance to doubt the authority of the International Energy Agency (IEA) and I am not certain that I managed to convince them

On the flight down to Copenhagen I read in Dagens Industri [Industry Today] that Petro Brass has made a large discovery of oil in the Gulf of Mexico. They estimate that the oilfield may contain 700 million barrels and they say that it is the largest find to be made in the region in the past decade. If we compare this oilfield with the world’s daily consumption of 70 million barrels of conventional crude oil then it possesses 10 days of current consumption.

(Swedish)
Den senaste tiden har det inte blivit något blogginlägg, inte för att det inte varit något att skriv om utan snarare att jag har ägnat all min tid till att skriva. Jag håller nu på med det sista viktiga kapitlet i min bok ”Peeking at Peak Oil” och jag kallar det ”Living with Peak Oil”. Det har varit en fantastisk intressant resa och totalt har jag nio personer utanför förlagen som på olika nivåer som är involverade. Den engelska versionen kommer att ges ut av Springer medan den svenska versionen trycks av Studentlitteratur. Förlagen har också ett antal personer som är involverade. Boken kommer att bli cirka 250 till 300 sidor lång och Olle har gjort cirka 100 fantastiska illustrationer. För en månad sedan skriv jag kapitlet om Saudiarabien och Sadad al-Husaini, fd vice verkställande direktör för Saudi Aramco, har läst det och avslutade sina kommentarer med dessa ord: Best wishes with your current project and I hope your book will be a great success. Sadad Al Husseini.Just nu har jag en energiintensiv vecka. Igår måndag hade jag besök av Mats Odell, fd minister och nu ordförande för näringsutskottet och talesman för energifrågor för kristdemokraterna. Vi presenterade vår forskning och avslutade med en intensiv debatt om Peak Oil.

Idag tisdag har jag mellanlandat i Köpenhamn på min resa till Bryssel. Det danska rederiet Nordens ledningsgrupp ville informera sig om Peak Oil. Än en gång kunde jag konstatera att IEA, International Energy Agency, stod högt i kurs och det var inte helt säkert att jag lyckades övertyga dem om att IEA har en agenda som inte kan stämma överens med verkligheten.

På flyget till Köpenhamn läste jag i Dagens Industri att Petro Brass hittat ett stort oljefynd i Mexikanska Golfen. man beräknar att det kan vara 700 miljoner fat i fältet och säger att det är det största fyndet man gjort i området de senaste tio åren. Om vi jämför med den årliga produktionen av råolja på 70 Mb/d så är det 10 dagar av vår nuvarande konsumtion.

Posted in: Uncategorized