Return to the Master Colin

Posted on September 21, 2011

9


In August 2001 I telephoned Colin Campbell to discuss Peak Oil. During the conversation, Colin began to discuss what would happen with ASPO, the Association for the Study of Peak Oil and Gas. The idea of ASPO was born at the end of 2000. Since January 2001 Colin had been writing a newsletter every month for ASPO but its other activities were very limited. Colin threatened to stop writing his newsletters in December 2001 and to put aside ASPO. It was then that I decided to travel to Ballydehob in southwest Ireland to visit Colin. At the end of September 2001 I flew with Ryanair from Stockholm to Cork, hired a car and drove a very crooked road down to Ballydehob. Colin was still thinking of putting aside ASPO, but when I suggested that I could organise a workshop at Uppsala University he regained his interest in the ASPO project. My suggestion was to organise, “The International Workshop on Oil Depletion” in May 2002 and Colin approved of the idea. I insisted that the workshop should be “International” and include speakers from the Middle East, Russia and the USA as well as all of the people from Europe. Colin said he could arrange that and he did.

I had no idea that my trip to Ballydehob would completely change my life. In 2001 I was a researcher with a special focus on heavy ion physics, i.e. nuclear reactions between elements that are heavier than sulphur. Now my work focusses entirely on Peak Oil.

Now I have travelled to Ballydehob once again but this time I had with my manuscript for the book “Peeking at Peak Oil”. From 2003 I changed the direction of my research and, although previously deeply involved in nuclear physics, began to research factors that are of importance regarding Peak Oil. In the past 8 years I have built up a research activity that, in February 2012, will result in the successful examination of its fourth doctoral student. In addition we have supervised 12 diploma students who have performed part of their research in the Peak Oil area. In total, we have published over 20 peer-reviewed articles. Together with me on my journey back to “the Master” was Olle Qvennerstedt who drew 110 illustrations for the book.

We had two wonderful days together with Colin and his wife Bobbin. Colin had read the first 11 chapters of the book earlier and when we came to Ballydehob we were to discuss Chapters 12 though to 19. These are the chapters in which the future is discussed. The changes that Colin had suggested before we came to Cork were quite small and when I arrived I asked “the Master” if he would award his “student” a passing grade. The answer was yes. Of course, Colin’s work and his work with us is described in the book and when I asked him whether he approved of my description of those aspects the answer was also positive. With such support I feel far more confident about having this manuscript published.

Olle was especially interested in the surroundings that are described in the book where the CIA visited Colin and he was pleased to find that he had understood correctly when he had prepared an illustration describing that. The relevant illustration is Figure 17.1 in Chapter 17 of Peeking at Peak Oil. That chapter is titled, “Why are military and intelligence agencies ‘Peeking at Peak Oil’?” and many people will find it interesting reading.

We left the Master gladdened and encouraged by his approval. The only remaining question is what the wider community will think of the book and that is something that only those who become engaged in the Peak Oil issue can decide.

(Swedish)
I augusti 2001 ringde jag upp Colin Campbell för att diskutera Peak Oil. Under samtalet började Colin diskutera vad som skulle ske med ASPO, The Association for the Study of Peak Oil. Idén till ASPO föddes i slutet av år 2000 och Colin hade sedan januari 2001 skrivit ett nyhetsbrev varje månad, men övrig aktivitet var mycket begränsad. Colin hotade med att sluta skriva sina nyhetsbrev i december 2001 och lägga projektet ASPO på hyllan. Det var då som jag beslutade mig för att åka till Ballydehob i sydvästra Irland, och besöka Colin. I slutet av september 2001 flög jag med Ryanair från Stockholm till Cork, hyrde en bil och körde på en mycket krokig väg ner till Ballydehob. Colin tänkte fortfarande lägga ASPO på hyllan, men då föreslog jag att jag kunde försöka att ordna en Workshop vid Uppsala universitet, då fick Colin tillbaka intresserat för ASPO. Mitt förslag var att vi skulle ordna ”The International Workshop On Oil Depletion” i maj 2002 och Colin godkände förslaget. För att kalla det för en internationell konferens var mitt krav att det skulle finnas talare från Mellanöstern, Ryssland och USA förutom alla från Europa. Det fixar jag sa Colin och det gjorde han också. Inte kunde jag ana att denna resa till Ballydehob fullständigt skulle förändra mitt liv. Då 2001 var jag forskare med specialintresse tungjonfysik, dvs kärnreaktioner mellan grundämnen som var tyngre än svavel, nu är det 100 procent Peak Oil.

Nu har jag på nytt gjort resan till Ballydehob, men denna gång har jag med mig i bagaget mitt manuskript till boken ”Peeking at Peak Oil”. Från och med 2003 ändrade jag inriktning på min forskning och ”inbäddad” som kärnfysik började vi undersöka faktorer som är av stor betydelse för Peak Oil. Under 8 år har jag byggt upp en verksamhet som nu i februari presenterar sin fjärde doktorand. Dessutom har vi också handlett 12 examensarbetare som arbetat med delprojekt inom Peak Oil forskningen. Totalt har vi publicerat över 20 forskningsgranskade artiklar. Tillsammans med mig på resan tillbaka till mästaren var Olle Qvennerstedt som gjort alla 110 illustrationer till boken.

Vi har haft två fina dagar tillsammans med Colin och hans fru Bobbin. Colin hade läst de 11 första kapitlen i boken tidigare och nu då vi kom till Ballydehob skulle vi diskutera kapitel 12 till och med 19. Det är i dessa kapitlen som framtiden diskuteras. De ändringsförslag som Colin kom med var mycket marginella. Innan vi åkte tillbaka till Cork frågade jag Colin om han som ”mästare” godkände elevens ”examensarbete” och svaret blev ja. Självfallet är Colin en del av det arbete som vi gjort och på en direkt fråga om han godkände de berättelser där hans namn nämns blev svaret ja. Det känns tryggt att trycka ”Peeking at Peak Oil” med detta stöd.

Olle var särskilt intresserad av den miljö som beskrivs då CIA kom och besökte Colin och Olle var mycket nöjd med att han uppfattat den rätt. Bilden kallas för figur 17.1 och kapitel 17, ”Why are military and intelligent agencies “Peeking at Peak Oil?”, kommer att bli en intressant läsning för många.

Vi lämnar Mästaren men en behaglig känsla att vi har fått godkänt. Frågan är vad det blir för slutbetyg på boken och det kan bara ni sätta som är engagerad i ”Peak Oil”.

Posted in: Uncategorized