Peak Oil presentations in London / Peak Oil presentationer i London

Posted on April 24, 2012

3


I have now completed two extremely interesting days in London and I will begin my description with today’s important meetings in the government district of Whitehall. First I visited the Department of Energy that, as in Sweden, also covers environmental issues. My contact person in London, David Ratcliff from the Department of International Development, had succeeded in arranging that I should meet David MacKay, chief advisor in energy issues to the UK government. I regard a meeting with MacKay as being more important that a meeting with the Energy Minister since MacKay’s words can be decisive on an issue. The meeting began with him giving me a copy of his book, “Sustainable Energy – without the hot air”. I have already begun to read the book but it is too early to give an opinion on its entirety. We discussed, among other things, how one should present/explain energy use and we had somewhat different opinions on this but we agreed that the method one chooses depends somewhat on what one wishes to say. There is no reason to go into more detail on that now. Many regard the book “Sustainable Energy – without the hot air” as the reason why MacKay was given the position of Chief Scientific Advisor of the Department of Energy and Climate Change of the UK government.

The fact that David MacKay presented me with his book gave me the perfect excuse to present him with mine, “Peeking at Peak Oil”. He asked me many questions related to Peak Oil and I could answer every question by referring to a relevant chapter from my book. The time went quickly but I can state that that there was a genuine interest in Peak Oil. He concluded by telling me that he would definitely read Peeking at Peak Oil. He was also interested in several of the research reports that my group has published and I will now print them out and send them to him. He hoped that we would have continued contact which I naturally have nothing against.

After lunch I had a working meeting with representatives from the Department of International Development and I presented our research. We discussed what are our areas of common interest might be. After this there was great interest in future collaboration and I played with the thought that we might be able to find something that the Swedish government was also interested in. That idea was very positively received. In Sweden these issues are the responsibility of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs. I cannot say anything more at the moment but I am convinced that this will not be the last time that my path takes me towards Whitehall.

Yesterday’s meeting with one of Europe’s largest banks, Societe Generale, and its energy experts and energy investors was also very rewarding. It was revealed that SG finances many large and small projects in the oil industry and I have never experienced such a large group of people from banking showing such great interest in Peak Oil. The questions were relevant and I believe that I gave some of them pause for thought. Later that evening I learned that one of the heads thought that the bank should order a large number of copies of my book. Good news!

To celebrate I suddenly decided to watch the musical “We Will Rock You”. That decision came spontaneously as I passed the theatre hosting the musical. In the 1960s I played a little rock with my band but it was somewhat more relaxed music than that in “We Will Rock You”. After I sat myself down in the theatre I became nearly 50 years younger for an evening. The unreserved seat that I had bought placed me among a group of 100 high school students from Utrecht in Holland. They were very talkative and naturally wondered why an elderly man like me would want to listen to hard rock. I explained that I had played rock in my youth and at that moment I may have appeared as a somewhat better guitar-player that I had been in reality. I saw the doubt in their eyes but was saved by the fact that, when all the members in the band come out to receive applause, most of them were revealed to be grey-haired men of my age. The teenager’s doubts disappeared. It was a memorable evening that concluded two rewarding days in London.

(Swedish)
Två fantastisk intressanta dagar i London är nu till ända och jag vill börja med dagens viktiga möten i regeringskvarteren Whitehall. Först var jag på energidepartementet som liksom i Sverige också administrerar miljöfrågor. Min kontaktman i London, David Ratcliffe från Department for International Development, hade lyckats med att ordna så att jag fick träffa David MacKay, som är chefsrådgivare i energifrågor till den Brittiska regeringen. Ett möte med MacKay anser jag är viktigare än ett möte med energiministern då MacKays ord kan vara avgörande för en fråga. Mötet började med att han lämnade över en kopia av hans bok ”Sustainable Energy – without the hot air”. Jag har redan tidigare börjat läsa boken men det är för tidigt att uttala sig om helheten än. Vi diskuterade bland annat hur man skulle precentera den energi som vi använder och var av lite olika åsikter, men vi enades om att sättet som man väljer beror lite på vad det är man vill berätta, men det finns ingen anledning att fördjupa sig i denna fråga nu. Många anser att det var just boken ”Sustainable Energy – without the hot air” som gjorde att han fick uppdraget som chefsrådgivare i energifrågor till regeringen.

Det faktum att han plockade fram sin bok gjorde det mycket lämpligt att jag plockade fram min bok ”Peeking at Peak Oil”. Han ställde många frågor relaterat till Peak Oil och varje fråga kunde jag besvara genom att plocka fram lämpligt kapitel i boken. Tiden gick fort, men jag kan konstatera att det fanns ett genuint intresse för Peak Oil. Han avslutade med att säga att han definitivt skulle läsa min bok. Han var också intresserad av flera av de forskningsrapporter som min grupp publicerat och jag skall nu skriva ut dem och skicka till honom. Han hoppades att vi skulle ha fortsatt kontakt vilket jag naturligtvis inte har något emot.

Efter lunch hade jag ett arbetsmöte med representanter från Department for International Development och jag presenterade vår forskning och vi diskuterade var det fanns för gemensamma intressen. Efter genomgången var intresset stort för framtida samarbete och jag lekte med tanken att vi kanske kunde hitta något som den Svenska regeringen också var intresserad av och förslaget mottogs mycket positivt. I Sverige ligger dessa frågor under utrikesdepartementet. Kan inte diskutera mer nu men jag är helt övertygad om att detta inte var sista gången som mina steg går mot Whitehall.

Gårdagens möte med en av Europas stora banker, Societe Generale, och deras energiexperter och energiinvesterare var också mycket givande. Det visade sig att SG finnanserar många stora och små projekt inom oljeindustrin och jag har aldrig tidigare haft en så stor intresserad grupp bankfolk som visat så stort intresse för Peak Oil. Frågorna var relevanta och jag tror att några fick sig en tankeställare. Senare på kvällen fick jag veta att en av cheferna tyckte att banken skulle göra en massbeställning av min bok. Fantastiskt roligt.

För att fira bestämde jag mig helt plötsligt för att gå och titta på musikalen ”We Will Rock You”. Beslutet kom då jag passerade teatern där den går. På 1960-talet spelade jag lite rock med min orkester, men det var lite lugnare är den musik som ”We Will Rock You” erbjuder. Då jag väl bänkade mig blev jag nästan 50 år yngre för en kväll. Den restplatsbiljett som jag köpte placerade mig mitt i en grupp på 100 gymnasister från Utrecht i Holland. De var väldigt pratsamma och undrade naturligtvis varför en gammal gubbe som jag skulle lyssna på hårdrock. Jag förklarade att jag i min ungdom själv spelat rock och i det ögonblicket blev jag nog lite skickligare på gitarr än vad jag var i verkligheten. Jag såg tvivlet i deras blickar. Vad som räddade mig var att då alla artister tackade för sig så kom även musikerna ut på scenen och tro det eller ej, men de flesta var gråhåriga herrar i min egen ålder. Tonåringarnas tvivel försvann. En minnesvärd kväll som avslutning på två givande dagar i London.

Posted in: Uncategorized